Warner Drive “Till The Wheels Fall Off” – Out Now

Warner Drive are an original group from Hollywood, and they’ve been working hard to grow their fan base. As a band they’ve shared the stage with groups like Ratt, Steel Panther, Papa Roach and The Killers, they’ve been touring internationally for years. “Till The Wheels Fall Off” is their forth album to date, but their previous three have had relatively low circulation.

So how best to describe them? Imagine that Bad News and Blink 182 had a baby, and they left that baby to be raised by Spinal Tap, but that baby grew up and recently broke into a music store. Yeah, I think thats about right. Read more »

Mr Big – Making Of New Album “Defying Gravity”

Eric Martin, Paul Gilbert, Pat Torpey and Billy Sheehan are together again, along with producer Kevin Elson, who had previously worked with them on the classic Mr. Big albums “Lean Into It” from 1991 and also 1993’s “Bump Ahead”. The new album “Defying Gravity” will be out July 7th, but you can see a short behind the scenes video of the making of the album right here.  Read more »

New album “Gothica” from melodic rockers TEN

As as anyone who knows me knows, I am a pretty huge fan (no thats not a weight joke) of British melodic hard rock masters TEN, so I was pretty pumped to hear about a new album coming out this July! You can see the press release below, and we’ll be doing a full album review in due course, but I can tell you now, this album has been one of my most eagerly anticipated albums of 2017, so get ready for “Gothica”.

Melodic hard rock band TEN has announced they will release their new album “Gothica” on July 7, 2017 via Frontiers Music Srl. The highly anticipated new album promises to be one of their strongest collection of songs to date. It is full of all the trademark textures and flavors we have come to expect from TEN, arguably one of the best and most consistent melodic hard rock bands in the genre. “Gothica” renews TEN’s longstanding association with the Frontiers label and proudly displays all the hallmarks of classic TEN albums and will surely continue to build upon the rich legacy that the great British rockers have forged over a career spanning 22 years and counting. Read more »

Synaptik release “Justify & Reason” plus new lyric video

UK prog metallers SynaptiK are launching their sophomore studio album entitled Justify & Reason today. The follow-up to their 2014’s debut The Mechanisms of Consequence can be ordered via the band’s official webstore in various packages. Along with the release of Justify & Reason, SynaptiK are premiering a lyric video for “The incredible Machine” taken from the new album.

The creative process for Justify & Reason was a great, positive experience. Singer John Knight commented: “We have honed our skills and built on the knowledge gained from the experiences recording the debut album and channelled these into ‘Justify and Reason.’ The way we wrote and recorded this album seemed to work a hell of a lot better for us this time. A lot more time spent on pre studio recording and getting everything sounding right, working on guitar harmonies, new drum patterns that fit the riffs and feel of the songs better. So when it came to recording it, it was quite a nice chilled but yet focused time, we got the whole album recorded in just a week.Read more »

Göran Edman returns on April 28th with Backwood Spirit

Göran Edman (Yngwie Malmsteen, John Norum) returns on April 28th with Backwood Spirit and their self titled debut, through Pride and Joy. This is going to be an album for fans of Whitesnake, Blues Pills, Rival Sons, Kadavar, Led Zeppelin, Free & Bad Company

Backwood Spirit was founded in Örebro, Sweden, in 2014 by guitarist and song-writer Kent Engström. After writing and doing pre-recordings of songs with different musicians, Engström teamed up with long time music companion and drummer Joje Lindskoog (Crossroad Jam, Waving Corn) to put a band together.  Read more »

Steve Hackett Discusses The Night Siren in New Video & Genesis Revisited with Classic Hackett Tour

Guitar virtuoso and rock legend, Steve Hackett (formerly of Genesis), is set to release his latest album ‘The Night Siren’ on 24th March 2017 through InsideOut Music (Sony).  As implied in the title, ‘The Night Siren’ is a wake-up call… the warning of a siren sounding in this era of strife and division, and he discusses the album in detail in this brand new interview video which you can find here:  Read more »

Focus drummer Pierre van der Linden releases solo debut

Netherlands – Pierre van der Linden, the drummer in legendary Dutch band Focus, has released his first solo album entitled “Drum Poetry” for fans and students of his varied drumming styles and techniques.

Pierre’s drumming can be heard in numerous rock, jazz and improvisational bands, but this is the first time it can be heard and studied in isolation, or accompanied by other unexpected instruments also played by Pierre.
Read more »

Prog Metal band Avelion release Illusion Of Transparency on April 24th

The modern prog metal band Avelion reveal the tracklist and premiere of the new album “Illusion of Transparency” out via Revalve records on April 7th.

The album has been produced, mixed and mastered by Simone Mularoni at Domination Studio. Artwork, Design and Photography by Stefano Mattioni at Viron 2.0. The cd version includes the bonus track Echoes and Fragments remixed by “the Algorithm”.  Read more »

Goldray (REEF’s Kenwyn House) to release ‘Rising’ Album on 5th May

Kenwyn House, guitarist of 90s alt rock giants REEF and his new UK psychedelic rock band GOLDRAY are set to release their highly-anticipated full length debut album ‘Rising’ on May 5th.

Recorded at various studios including Metropolis, The Granary and RAK Studios, the album has been produced jointly by Kenwyn House and vocalist Leah Rasmussen and co-produced by Clive Martin (the acclaimed knob-twiddler behind Reef’s huge debut Replenish), with Brit Award-winning producer Pedro Ferreira adding his magic touch to the final mixesRising’ will be released in Vinyl LP, CD and Digital formats via their own label Akashic Records, with worldwide distribution through Cargo Records.
Read more »

Prog Rock Ensemble APE SHIFTER To Release Self-Titled Debut, March 24th

It was a cold, dark day when the fire burned high and the simian shadow raised his hand through the smoke in solemn praise and exclaimed, “It is time for instrumental rock!”

Germany – Progressive Rock ensemble APE SHIFTER will be releasing their self-titled debut album in March 2017! APE SHIFTER is all instrumental and reaches from rockin’ 70’s riffs played with punk rock ferocity to creeping metal grooves. Intense Simian Instrumental Rock from the nasty pits of the Hellabrunn Zoo.
Read more »