Album Reviews

TEN “Gothica” album review – out July 7th

It’s pretty much impossible to have been a fan of melodic hard rock and not have heard of TEN. The British melodic rock band, often dubbed one of the best in the genre, have been around for the last 22 years. With 12 studio albums under their belt, plus a number of EPs, live and compilation albums, they’ve certainly made their mark on the melodic rock scene. The bands lead singer and songwriter, Gary Hughes, has also made a quite a name for himself as a solo artist with 6 albums since the late 80’s, most notably with the two rock opera albums “Once and Future King” part 1 and part 2, which revolved around the legend of King Arthur and featured a host of top guest musicians from other bands. He also wrote and produced the first three solo albums by Magnum’s lead singer Bob Catley, wrote and produced “Circle Of Knives” by fellow British band Serpentine, produced Hugo’s debut and has appeared on albums by Ayreon and Vinny Burns. Read more »

Angelwings “The Edge Of Innocence” review – June 23

Originally formed in 2013 in Gibraltar, Angelwings got together to perform covers of Nightwish songs. A year and a half later they started writing their own material, and June 23rd will see the release of the resulting debut album “The Edge Of Innocence”. In the time in between their demo tracks have seen radio airplay internationally, and they’ve shared the stage with the likes of Saxon, Kings Of Leon and Duran Duran. So how does the album hold up? Read more »

Jorn – “Life On Death Road” review – out June 2

Norway’s Jorn Lande returns in June 2017 with a new band and his 9th original studio album, “Life On Death Road”. Claimed to be the biggest selling Norwegian musical export since the pop band A-Ha, Jorn’s catalogue is getting too long to include here but my favourites include Millenium and Masterplan.

For “Life On Death Road” Jorn is joined by bassist Mat Sinner (Primal Fear, Sinner, Kiske/Somerville), a musician that virtually any fan of European heavy metal fanatic will be familiar with. On keyboards and production is Alessandro Del Vecchio (Hardline, Revolution Saints), who had also joined Jorn for the recording of his last covers album, “Heavy Rock Radio” and was the glue that helped Jorn to create the feel and the direction for the new album. Francesco Iovino (Primal Fear) is on drums and Alex Beyrodt (Primal Fear, Voodoo Circle) is on guitar. The result? Read more »

Harem Scarem “United” album review – out May 12

With sales of well over a million records in 43 countries and 12 top 40 hits around the globe, 2017 will see Harem Scarem return with their 14th studio album “United”.  Read more »

Warrant “Louder Harder Faster” album review – out May 12

With over eight million records sold worldwide, two Top Ten Billboard albums, five Top 40 Billboard hits, and five #1 MTV videos, Warrant are always a band to take note of. Six years after the release of “Rockaholic”, Warrant return with “Louder Harder Faster”. How does this new album stack up?  Read more »

Jessie Galante “The Show Must Go On” album review – out May 12

Out on the 12th of May via Tanzan Music, Jessie Galante releases her soul rock album “The Show Must Go On”. We had a listen at Paradise Rock HQ and were quite split on this one.  Read more »

Crazy Lixx “Ruff Justice” album review

Formed 15 years ago, Crazy Lixx return this year with their fifth studio album, “Ruff Justice”. This will be the first Crazy Lixx album to feature the new lineup of Chrisse Olsson and Jens Lundgren on guitars, after the departure of guitarist Edd Liam and songwriting guitarist Andy Zäta in 2015.  Read more »

Adrenaline Rush “Soul Survivor” album review – out April 21st

Following up on their 2014 self-titled debut, Adrenaline Rush return this month with a slightly  different line up and a new album, “Soul Survivor”. Bassist Joel Fox and guitarist Sam Soderlindh were added to the line up following the departure of Ludvig and Soufian. So we had a listen to this recently (actually several listens, but we’ll get to that). Read more »

Eclipse “Monumentum” album review – Out March 24th

It’s been two years since we last heard a new full length album from Swedish hard rockers Eclipse. Two years that has seen the band play to audiences in Australia, Japan, America and Europe, not to mention the three and a half million viewers who saw Eclipse’s debut on Swedish national television at Melodifestivalen 2016.

With the development shown in their last two albums “Bleed and Scream” and “Armageddonize” the picture was clear, Eclipse were a band to watch. This month sees the release of their new album with Frontiers Music Srl, “Monumentum”, their sixth album overall, so we had a listen to see if this is an album you should take the time to listen to.  Read more »

Night Ranger “Don’t Let Up” album review – out March 24th

If you’re a fan of melodic rock and haven’t heard of Night Ranger then you’ve probably been living in a bubble. On an island with no WiFi, no radio, and no TV. You’ve probably also been alone. Night Ranger are one of the biggest names in the rock scene, featured in many different areas of media and popular culture and “Don’t Let Up”, their 12th studio album, is out on the 24th of March. “Don’t Let Up” will be available in both a standard edition and a deluxe edition (featuring bonus track and bonus DVD – physical format only). So is this album worthy of being in your collection?  Read more »