Warrant “Louder Harder Faster” album review – out May 12

With over eight million records sold worldwide, two Top Ten Billboard albums, five Top 40 Billboard hits, and five #1 MTV videos, Warrant are always a band to take note of. Six years after the release of “Rockaholic”, Warrant return with “Louder Harder Faster”. How does this new album stack up? 

This album features original members, Erik Turner, Jerry Dixon, Joey Allen, and Steven Sweet along with singer Robert Mason (Lynch Mob, Cry of Love), and is produced by Jeff Pilson (Foreigner, ex-Dokken, Dio, MSG).

There are some decent songs here. “New Rebellion” is the ballsiest song on the album, with some slick guitars on it. The rockers “Perfect” and “Devil Dancer”, are also worth a listen. The Highlight of the album is the ballad”U In My Life”, which sees the strongest vocal performance of the album, which are coupled with some good keys and heartfelt guitar.

Those songs aside, the rest of the album felt mediocre and formulaic. Not bad, but not particularly original and lacking in ambition, without the energy I associate with a Warrant album. We know Warrant are better than this.

Verdict:  7 out of 10. A couple of decent tracks with one stand out ballad, this is a long way from Warrant’s heyday, mediocre but still worth a listen. I also got the feeling that from this that Warrant havn’t quite yet worked out how to best incorporate Robert Mason into the band’s sound.

Man i miss Jani Lane 🙁

Robert Mason – lead vocals
Joey Allen – lead and rhythm guitar
Erik Turner – rhythm and lead guitar
Jerry Dixon – bass guitar
Steven Sweet – drums

US Tour Dates
Apr 27 – Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom, Hampton Beach, NH
Apr 28 – Merriweather Post Pavilion, Columbia, MD
May 12 – PBR Rock Bar @ Miracle Mile Shops, Las Vegas, NV
Nov 1 – T-Mobile Arena, Toshiba Plaza Stage, Las Vegas, NV

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply